Leadership Summit Part Deux

Another solid day of training.  Here’s the highlights…

Ashish Nanda talked about satisfaction verses people’s experience & expectations.  He graphed it and showed that when people have a small decrease in their experience, it can significantly decrease their satisfaction.  But when people’s experience moves in a positive direction, it does not have the same drastic effect on satisfaction.  As people have more positive experiences, they may only be slightly more satisfied.  The point: It is important to provide consistently positive experiences as opposed to nailing it one week and screwing it up the next.

I was destroyed when I heard Jim Collins say that our mission is too important to entrust it to the wrong people.  It’s not that I’m keen on firing anyone, I just needed to hear that.

We have to do something about AIDS (and by "WE" I mean anyone who ever reads this).  Non-action is a non-option.

Thinking in short term (3-12 mo) goals is my new resolution.  I’m not abandoning big picture stuff, but I am sold on the importance of goals that can be reached or not reached in shorter periods of time.  Also, "the enemy of the perfect is not the enemy of the good."  I think that’s what Lencioni said.  And I think that means that I don’t need to have everything figured out before I get started.  That sometimes it’s better to get busy doing instead of planning something to death.

It hit me on the way home that I have absorbed more leadership training in the past 8 months than I had in 23 previous years.  I don’t know if I’m any better, but I am definitely beginning to synthesize some strategies and ideas.

One more day, and I’m a certified leader, woo hoo….peace.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kim a said,

    I am pretty good at planning stuff to death…so I hear you. I tend to get lost and/or overwhelmed by the big picture. Feeling too small to make a difference so I do nothing. I wish I could have been there, your highlights are just enough to make me want more info.

  2. 2

    Erin said,

    I am glad to know that you are not keen on firing anyone!


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

