Food Network Musings

Guilty Pleasure Alert: I love the food network.  I watch it almost every day.  Erin and I have a ritual of sorts: I come home, eat a sandwich, and then we sit down to Everyday Italian.  When Essence of Emeril comes on, I know it’s time to go back to work.
As I was watching today, I wondered what happens to all of the food that gets made on the food network.  20+ shows a day, 7 days a week, 52 weeks a year comes out to 7,280 shows.  Taking out 25% of those shows as re-runs comes to 5,460 shows.  Over 5,000 meals are prepared for basically no-one every year.  I wonder what is done with that food.  Does the crew eat it?  If so, I wonder how hard technicians work to get on the show where they enjoy the food.  I would never want to be on Barefoot Contessa, but I would be elated to be on Bobby Flay’s show(s).
I haven’t posted in a long time, and this is the best I can do???  I really do have a point, stick with me…
The reason I was thinking about the food, is because I have been feeling a bit like the chefs on the food network.  I have been using so much mental energy lately, and it feels like it hasn’t really been for anyone’s benefit.  I’ve been caught up in things at church, things I’ve read, things I’ve heard, and things I need to do.  It seems like I’ve been spending so much time just thinking, but not in a normal productive way.  I’ve been cooking for no one.  Seems like it’s about time to start doing something rather than just thinking about doing something.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Amanda Miller said,

    Chris, just read your post about all the left over food. My big question lately has been, what did they do with all the leftovers they gathered at the feeding of the 5,000 and the 4,000? Was this the first instance of “to go boxes”, or did the diciples heat it up for dinner, or did the little boy take it all home to surprise mom? I know, I think way too hard about these things!


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

