You Will Become It

I have had a re-connection with my life in high school over the past two weeks. It all started when I found “The Ringing Bell,” Derek Webb’s new album. I pre-ordered it, downloaded it, and have listened to it over and over. Listening to The Ringing Bell reminded me of how much I loved I See Things Upside Down which reminded me of how much I used to love Derek’s old band, Caedmon’s Call. Caedmon’s Call plus Dave Matthews equals the reason I learned to play guitar. As fate would have it, I found a concert video from December 1999 (the middle of my senior year). It’s fun to watch what people wore just 8 short years ago. Baggy sweaters and cargo pants ruled the day.
I say all of this because it is a perfect example of what I’ve been learning lately. Since I am in the middle of a worship series with the students, I have been reading about worship and listening to people talk about worship. I read something the other day, but I didn’t really read it if you know what I mean. I saw the words, but I didn’t digest them. Louie Giglio says that you become whatever you worship. Whatever you value and prize will determine how you spend your time and where your focus is. If you worship something, you become it.
As sad as it may be, on some level I used to worship Derek Webb. I wanted to play a Martin guitar like him, and get a tattoo on my left forearm like him, and wear baggy sweaters like him. I learned how to play almost every song that he had written. While I was watching the concert from my senior year, I was reminded of how much my life was trying to dictate Derek’s. What a waste! Not because he isn’t talented and a great musician, but what a waste because of how much time I spent trying to be something I’m not supposed to be nor ever will be. An author, maybe C.S. Lewis, talks about becoming something at every moment. Right now we are all becoming something.
The question is: What am I becoming? What am I worshipping right now?

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Zach said,

    Webb has a new album??? Man…where have I been.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

