On why this is probably my last blog entry…

It really comes down to influence.  When I write something down on WordPress, there is a good chance that about 20 people may see it.  I have kept up with the stats of the blog and I average about 13 hits a day (I’m pretty sure that 9 of those may be my mom).  If you take 13 different hits over a few days and assume that some of those are the same people, probably no more than 20-35 people are actually looking at this blog.  Random drop-ins happen, but I have never had a comment nor been linked to by any of these drop-ins.And even if the readership went up, what is the point really?  Does anyone care about a trip to Chicago or what I think of the Dallas Cowboys?  Probably not.  This blog is just random ramblings about asinine topics.  There have been occasional posts about upcoming messages with the students or little thoughts about faith and following Jesus, but are those posts really “inspiring?”  I highly doubt it.And so, I am left wondering how I can spend more time where I have greater influence.  A Podcast?  Probably not.  The youth website?  Doubt it.  It gets about 1/3 of the hits that I get here.  I don’t know what is next, but I am pretty sure that I am done with blogging. 

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    jade said,

    bummer, ive been anticipating your next blog. haha. i was checking back regularly for an update from willowcreek.

    i just gotta say, youve always inspired me chris! haha. i mean, who else understood my sad relationship with the harry potter books, only you understand my insane anticipation for the 11th and 21st of July…when the greatest series of all times comes to an end and harry potter kicks the bucket.

    you’ve always inspired me, boss. Because you understand your readers. You understand me.

    –end scene—

  2. 2

    jade said,

    and seriously, i do like reading your rants. you should have your own website. I know this is dumb, but emma watson just launched her new website and I want one like it. haha. I feel that my mind and my world is important enough to share with the rest of humanity. You should get a cool one too. We can start a cool webring of coolness. Unless you can’t handle the cool.

    Stormy can handle the coolness. Emma can, Erin and Caed can. can you???????????????????????????????

    …..poor harry. he’s toast. (im just getting myself psyched up for this)

  3. 3

    Travis Cottrell said,

    I care! I care!

    Come on…it’s not just for people to read it. It’s so you can say it. isn’t that enough???

    Say it loud. Say it proud. Even if only 13 people hear it.

    I care! For reals.

  4. 4

    Alan Brandt said,

    OK dude. Calm down. Back away from the ledge. Slowly now. You don’t…have…to…do…this.

    Couple of solutions for you. First, listen to the commenter directly above me: it’s not about the people; it’s so you can say it.

    Second, draw an audience. The more posts you do on the Dallas Cowboys, the more traffic you’ll draw to your site. Use keywords.

    If that fails, try a third approach, one that seems to work well for the guy in the aforementioned previous comment. Create numerous bogus personalities and have them comment on your blog. Attaching cute pictures works well, and make them girls. Try it! It works better than a Ron Popeel pocket fisherman! (See the witty use of keywords?)

    OK, in all seriousness…you’ve gained a new reader. Anyone who has Crowder, Cottrell, and Cuban on their blog roll has got it goin’ on.

    Stick around!

  5. 5

    RR said,

    OK dude. Calm down. Back away from the ledge. Slowly now. You don’t…have…to…do…this.

    Couple of solutions for you. First, listen to the commenter directly above me: it’s not about the people; it’s so you can say it.

    Second, draw an audience. The more posts you do on the Dallas Cowboys, the more traffic you’ll draw to your site. Use keywords.

    If that fails, try a third approach, one that seems to work well for the guy in the aforementioned previous comment. Create numerous bogus personalities and have them comment on your blog. Attaching cute pictures works well, and make them girls. Try it! It works better than a Ron Popeel pocket fisherman! (See the witty use of keywords?)

    OK, in all seriousness…you’ve gained a new reader. Anyone who has Crowder, Cottrell, and Cuban on their blog roll has got it goin’ on.

    Stick around!

  6. 6

    Bret Newcomb said,

    I read Stapper.

  7. 7

    Idetrorce said,

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  8. 8

    sandrar said,

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

