Rob Bell Review

That’s a misleading title.  I don’t want to review a person; rather, I promised a few notes from my recent visit to Dallas to hear Rob speak.  I enjoyed the talk, and Rob held my interest, but I found the entire thing a bit like Bell’s book “Sex God” in that Rob seemed to suffer a little from the sophomore slump.  “Velvet Elvis” was an amazing book that was fun and different and helped to reform my beliefs; Rob’s first speaking tour “Everything is Spiritual” was likewise fun and different and radically changed some long-held beliefs.  “The God’s Aren’t Angry” certainly had plenty of facts and great stories and the message (God loves you and He’s not angry with you) was well-stated, but I can’t say I enjoyed it as much.

For another review, read this entry on the Out of Ur blog at Christianity Today. 

Leave a Reply

